Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [ review ] www.malaysianhosts.com

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    your house
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs up [ review ] www.malaysianhosts.com

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    LINK : Review | Find web hosting & web host reviews | MalaysianHosts.com
    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Hi everyone! This website is made for everyone to share their experience with their hosting companies, all in Malaysia.

    We would like to hear your comments/suggestions, good or bad. Certainly we will listen and improve our website, so everyone can have a good experience buying web-hosting!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    -
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    158
    Is this an independantly run website? Or is it run or sponsored or hosted by one of the hosting companies involved in the reviews? This is an important point to know before one can judge the reliability of the review results.

    There are review sites which are run by a particular company as a way to get more traffic or sales or recognition for their own purpose. Some review sites also seem to promote companies that sponsor the site.

    I hope the OP will clarify and disclose more details about this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    your house
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0
    This is an independant website run by me only. I want to help webmasters get a better choice with their hosting packages.

    All reviews are posted by individuals that have experience with their hosting company, and 99% of them are approved. the 1% that I never approve is something like this:

    **example**
    score:1/10
    comments: this hosting sucks.
    **example**

    Why dont I approve that? simply because there are no good comments for the impossible score. no hosting company listed there can be that bad. after all, theyre there to do business too.

    I hope that gives you an idea of how MalaysianHosts.com works. If you dont beleive me, go whois my domain. You will see an individual ownership, not a company.

    -------------------
    BTW,
    I am accepting advertisements on my site for anyone interested

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    -
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    158
    It is good you moderate the posted comments. How do you ensure that comments are from real users of the hosting company and not just pretending to be so or posting false good / bad comments? Or its not the hosts themselves posting the reviews?

    Is this site hosted at serverfreak? If so, do they have any affiliation with this site such as sponsoring the site etc?
    Last edited by mylinear; 30-11-2008 at 02:43 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    your house
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0
    I do not get paid to control reviews or do anything to mess around with the reviews.

    I do whatever I can to keep the reviews real, including checking IP addresses, names, emails. But thats all I can do. maximum votes per day is 1.

    The site is indeed hosted at serverfreak, because I need to make it load fast for the Malaysian people. I have found serverfreak to be quite reliable. The truth is, I joined affiliate programs for some of the hosts to get some income. However, I have not messed around with the reviews ( you will find exabytes gives better affiliate awards, but theyre not #1 on the list). Thats just one way to prove it.

    And look, if the hosts are going to review themselves, well.. its just going to be troublesome for them, with the captcha, and daily voting limit.

    So, what do you think?, this site is probably the most honest hosting review site so far, I guess. what do you think of the rating system? and any suggestions for improvements?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    -
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by djzen View Post
    The site is indeed hosted at serverfreak, because I need to make it load fast for the Malaysian people.
    Isn't the site hosted on a US server and not a local server?

    Quote Originally Posted by djzen View Post
    So, what do you think?, this site is probably the most honest hosting review site so far, I guess. what do you think of the rating system? and any suggestions for improvements?
    One suggestion is to describe the method you use to moderate and verify posted reviews, like what you described in your reply above. To show visitors the reliability of the reviews.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    your house
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for your input. That is a great idea. I will put it into consideration.

    It is hosted locally.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    -
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    158
    Unless I am checking incorrectly, the site has IP 75.127.x.x. It is located on a US server, not a local server.

    Check and verify with your webhost.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    your house
    Posts
    27
    Rep Power
    0
    Hmm, you are right..

    Thanks, I will check with my host, and hopefully move it to a Malaysian server.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Kindly Review My New Website: Forex Review
    By pesal in forum Websites Review and Suggestion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-04-2009, 07:17 PM
  2. [ discussion ]MalaysianHosts.com - Malaysia's First Hosting Review Website
    By djzen in forum Paid Hosting Discussion Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-12-2008, 11:52 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-11-2008, 04:10 PM
  4. review and let me know
    By bloggersmosaic in forum Websites Review and Suggestion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2008, 10:30 PM
  5. review my new web...
    By iamfreelancer in forum Websites Review and Suggestion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-10-2007, 11:53 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC1 PL1

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37