Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Detect a Congested Server (dedicated server)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    in my body lar...
    Posts
    1,325
    Rep Power
    0

    Detect a Congested Server (dedicated server)

    I got a question for dedicated server hoster...

    I saw i nice feature in airasia website.. which they post a message stating that the server is congested .... something like "the data line is congested now or some other issue arise..... Please try again later.... bla bla bla..."

    Can we have some automated scripts/features on the hosting (pleask) server that can prompt the message wheneber the connection slow down or processor utilization are high??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cheras, Selangor.
    Posts
    457
    Rep Power
    0
    On dedicated server which have root access the answer is yes.

    You can do that by monitoring server resources at which percents you want the message appear on the website. Let's say when the server cpu/memory reach 70% or 80% of the total resource, the alert message will come up to give a warning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    in my body lar...
    Posts
    1,325
    Rep Power
    0
    thank for the reply... but can we have some automated scripts that can read the processor load and network load and auto put the notice index page of the dedicated web server?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cheras, Selangor.
    Posts
    457
    Rep Power
    0
    For the script, you can build it yourself or hire someone. The script can be coding to replace the frontpage when the server resources reach certain limit. You can set the script to run automatically using crontab schedule for examples.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    pd
    Posts
    497
    Rep Power
    147
    You must have done a search by now... just in case, I found this gem which, if it doesn't immediately answer all your problems, seems like the seed of a solution:

    Code:
    <?php
    echo `uptime`;
    ?>
    Tada! Found it on a page where someone asked the same question:
    How do I check server load using a script? [Archive] - vBulletin Community Forum

    I think all those solutions require some fairly privileged access to a unix or linux operating system. If you don't have those, perhaps you can time some part of the page building process and add a late block of HTML with a style that puts it at the top of the page if the time is some amount above average?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    india
    Posts
    177
    Rep Power
    59
    nice information, thanks for posting with us

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-12-2011, 01:27 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-06-2011, 03:58 PM
  3. Dedicated Server▲ Xeon Server Series + 1 Terrabytes HDD ▲
    By Filuren in forum Web Hosting Offers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-03-2009, 09:34 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-12-2008, 04:24 AM
  5. Dedicated Server
    By danbytes in forum Other Webmaster-related Services and Promotion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-04-2003, 11:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.0 RC1 PL1

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39